2018 EPEAT Purchaser Award Winners

May 15, 2018


Minneapolis, MN – May 15, 2018 – The Global Electronics Council (GEC), the organization that manages the EPEAT ecolabel, announced its 2018 EPEAT Purchaser Award winners on May 14th at a ceremony in Minneapolis, MN. The awards program honors organizations that show leadership in the procurement of sustainable IT products. This year’s awardees include national and local governments, financial institutions, healthcare organizations, K-12 schools, institutions of higher learning, and businesses from around the globe. When combined, the 2018 EPEAT Purchaser Award winners realized cost savings of more than $82.5 million across the lifetime of their purchased products. Along with significant cost savings, the 53 EPEAT Purchaser Award winners also recognized considerable environmental benefits from their purchasing decisions including combined greenhouse gas reductions equivalent to removing more than 94,000 passenger cars from the road for a year; a reduction of nearly 2,000 metric tons of hazardous waste; solid waste savings equivalent to that produced by more than 4,500 average U.S. households each year; a reduction in energy usage by 798 million kWh; and avoidance of nearly 1,400 metric tons of water pollutant emissions. Large-scale public and private sector purchasers globally rely on the EPEAT Registry, the leading global ecolabel for sustainable IT products, to identify and purchase sustainable IT products. The Global Electronics Council recognized the EPEAT Purchaser Award winners at a ceremony sponsored by the Information Technology Industry Council (ITI), the premier advocacy and policy organization for the world’s leading innovation companies. Award ceremony speakers included purchaser representatives Probuddho Halder from India’s Wipro Limited, and Luke Jannett from the State of Minnesota.

Award Winners Award winners were recognized for their purchases in four IT product categories: PCs and Displays, Imaging Equipment, Mobile Phones, and Televisions. Award winners earned one star for each product category in which they committed to purchasing EPEAT registered products.

Four-Star Award Winners

  • Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC; Y-12 National Security Complex
  • DEA Office of Training
  • DEA’s Office of Investigative Technology
  • Hackensack Meridian Health
  • Kaiser Permanente
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Oak Ridge Associated Universities
  • Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
  • U.S. General Services Administration

Three-Star Award Winners

  • Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • City of Fort Collins, Colorado
  • Cleveland Clinic
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • DOE Office of Legacy Management
  • El Paso Intelligence Center
  • Missile Defense Agency
  • Mission Support Alliance; CH2M Hill PRC, Washington River Protection Solutions
  • US Department of Homeland Security
  • US DOE Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
  • US DOT Volpe Center
  • US Environmental Protection Agency, Region 5
  • Wipro, Limited

Two-Star Award Winners

  • Battelle Energy Alliance
  • City of Durango, Colorado
  • City of Portland, Oregon
  • City of Santa Monica, California
  • Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • DEA Chicago Field Division
  • East Tennessee Technology Park
  • Experience Scottsdale
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • NASPO ValuePoint
  • Office of Scientific and Technical Information
  • Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant, U.S. Department of Energy
  • State of California
  • The University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh
  • The World Bank Group
  • UC Santa Barbara
  • Voya Financial

One-Star Award Winners

  • Bowdoin College
  • City of Seattle, Washington
  • DEA Miami Southeast Laboratory
  • DEA Western Laboratory
  • Drug Enforcement Administration, Northeast Laboratory
  • Maryland Department of Transportation
  • New York State Office of General Services – Procurement Services
  • North Central Laboratory – US DEA
  • Providence Schools
  • Scottish Government
  • Shared Services Canada
  • Stanford University