EPEAT Climate+

Alors que les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes alimentés par le changement climatique deviennent de plus en plus fréquents, la lutte contre le changement climatique est une préoccupation majeure pour les fabricants d'électronique, les consommateurs, les institutions, les décideurs politiques et les investisseurs.

De nombreuses entreprises s'efforcent d'avoir des activités ou des produits à faible teneur en carbone, voire "nets zéro", pour attirer ces parties. Malheureusement, l'écoblanchiment et les difficultés à prouver l'efficacité de certaines pratiques telles que les compensations carbone suscitent un scepticisme qui nuit à ces efforts. Par conséquent, les marques doivent prouver que leurs affirmations sont 1) significatives et 2) vérifiées de manière indépendante. EPEAT® Climate+TM offre aux marques d'électronique un moyen de faire les deux dans le processus de conception, de fabrication et de promotion de produits qui reflètent leur engagement dans la lutte contre le changement climatique.

epeat-climate+ (en anglais)

EPEAT Climate+ aide les acheteurs à identifier rapidement les produits technologiques conçus et fabriqués en tenant compte de l'atténuation du changement climatique. Il s'agit d'une désignation de produit qui peut être obtenue par les produits enregistrés auprès de l'EPEAT. Les produits désignés par EPEAT Climate+ sont qualifiés en fonction d'un ensemble unique de critères climatiques par des entreprises ayant des pratiques progressistes dans ce domaine. Les produits qui répondent à ces critères sont idéaux pour les organisations qui cherchent à suivre et à atteindre les objectifs d'impact sur le climat liés à leurs achats.

QUELLES SONT LES EXIGENCES EN MATIÈRE DE PRODUITS ?

Outre les critères spécifiques à la catégorie de produits de l'EPEAT, qui couvrent une gamme complète de domaines d'impact, les produits désignés par Climate+ doivent répondre à des critères qui exigent.. :

epeat-climate+product-ghg-disclosures

Déclarations publiques et vérifiées par des tiers des émissions de gaz à effet de serre des produits

efficacité énergétique

Procédés de fabrication en amont économes en énergie

cibles

Objectifs scientifiques de réduction des GES

solaire

Approvisionnement en électricité à partir de sources d'énergie renouvelables

normes d'efficacité énergétique des produits

Normes d'efficacité énergétique des produits

Ces éléments des critères climatiques de l'EPEAT ont été développés pour garantir que les produits et les entreprises qui les conçoivent et les fabriquent respectent les meilleures pratiques de l'industrie en matière de décarbonisation. Ces critères ont été créés dans le cadre d'un processus équilibré et multipartite avec des acheteurs, des fabricants, des scientifiques, des experts de l'industrie, des décideurs politiques et des défenseurs du développement durable, ce qui garantit qu'ils sont ambitieux, pratiques et fondés sur des données scientifiques.

Des vérificateurs tiers approuvés par le GEC garantissent que tous les critères climatiques requis ont été respectés, ce qui confère le plus haut niveau de crédibilité à la désignation EPEAT Climate+.

Comment l'EPEAT Climate+ peut-il bénéficier à mon organisation ?

Climate+ aide les fabricants à démontrer leurs efforts d'atténuation du changement climatique directement aux acheteurs, aux décideurs politiques, aux investisseurs et à d'autres acteurs importants de leurs communautés de parties prenantes. Pour en savoir plus sur les avantages pour votre marque et sur la manière dont elle peut enregistrer ses produits, cliquez ici.
L'engagement Climate+ du Global Electronics Council (GEC) exploite le pouvoir d'achat des institutions pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des produits TIC qu'elles achètent. Lisez la suite pour savoir comment l'engagement Climate+ du GEC peut renforcer vos achats.

Who is Already Participating?

GEC boasts an esteemed roster of electronics brands and purchasing organizations actively engaged in EPEAT Climate+.

EPEAT Participating Manufacturers that have registered one or more EPEAT Products that earned the Climate+ Product distinction are know as Climate+ Champions.

Purchasers benefit from Climate+ by signing the GEC Climate+ Pledge to become either a Climate+ Purchasing Leader or a Climate+ Purchasing Advocate. Climate+ Purchasing Leader are organizations committed to purchasing Climate+ Products, while Climate+ Purchasing Advocate are organizations and individuals advocating and promoting Climate+ Products.

Our Full Roster of Climate+ Champions Now Includes:

AOC logo
ASUS logo
DELL Technologies logo
EIZO logo
HP logo
Lenovo logo
Lexmark logo
MMD logo
Xerox logo

Our Full Roster of Climate+ Purchasing Leaders Now Includes:

California Department of General Services logo
Los Angeles Department of Water & Power logo
Oregon State DAS Procurement Services logo
Washington State Department of Enterprise Services

Our Full Roster of Climate+ Purchasing Advocates Now Includes:

Commonwealth du Massachusetts Division des services opérationnels

EPEAT Climate+

As extreme weather events fueled by climate change become increasingly frequent, combating climate change is a top concern for electronics manufacturers, consumers, institutions, policymakers and investors.

Many companies strive for low carbon or even “net zero” operations or products to appeal to these parties. Unfortunately, greenwashing and difficulties in proving the efficacy of some practices such as carbon offsets create skepticism that hurts these efforts. As a result, brands need to prove their claims are 1) meaningful and 2) independently verified. EPEAT® Climate+TM offers electronics brands a way to do both in the process of designing, manufacturing and promoting products that reflect their commitment to addressing climate change.

epeat-climate+

EPEAT Climate+ helps purchasers quickly identify technology products designed and manufactured with climate change mitigation in mind. It is a product designation that can be achieved by EPEAT registered products. EPEAT Climate+ designated products are qualified against a unique set of climate criteria by companies with progressive corporate practices in this area. Products meeting these criteria are ideal for organizations seeking to track and achieve climate impact goals related to their procurement

WHAT ARE THE PRODUCT REQUIREMENTS?

In addition to EPEAT’s product category-specific criteria, which address a full range of impact areas, Climate+ designated products must meet criteria that require:

epeat-climate+product-ghg-disclosures

Public and Third-Party Verified Product GHG Disclosures

energy-efficient

Energy Efficient Upstream Manufacturing Processes

targets

Science-Based GHG Reduction Targets

solar

Sourcing of Electricity from Renewable Energy Sources

product-energy-efficiency-standards

Product Energy Efficiency Standards

These elements of the EPEAT Climate Criteria were developed to ensure that products and the companies that design and manufacture them meet industry best practices around decarbonization. These criteria were created in a balanced, multi-stakeholder process with purchasers, manufacturers, scientists, industry experts, policymakers, and sustainability advocates, ensuring they are ambitious, practical, and science-based.

Third-party verification experts approved by GEC ensure that all required Climate Criteria have been met, bringing the highest level of credibility to the EPEAT Climate+ designation.

How Can EPEAT Climate+ Benefit My Organization?

Climate+ helps manufacturers demonstrate their climate change mitigation efforts directly to purchasers, policy makers, investors, and other important players in their larger stakeholder communities. Read more to see how this benefits your brand and how it may register products.
The Global Electronics Council (GEC) Climate+ Pledge harnesses the purchasing power of institutional procurement to address the GHG emissions of the ICT products they buy. Read more to learn how the GEC Climate+ Pledge can empower your procurement.

Who is Already Participating?

GEC boasts an esteemed roster of electronics brands and purchasing organizations actively engaged in EPEAT Climate+.

EPEAT Participating Manufacturers that have registered one or more EPEAT Products that earned the Climate+ Product distinction are know as Climate+ Champions.

Purchasers benefit from Climate+ by signing the GEC Climate+ Pledge to become either a Climate+ Purchasing Leader or a Climate+ Purchasing Advocate. Climate+ Purchasing Leader are organizations committed to purchasing Climate+ Products, while Climate+ Purchasing Advocate are organizations and individuals advocating and promoting Climate+ Products.

Our Full Roster of Climate+ Champions Now Includes:

AOC logo
ASUS logo
DELL Technologies logo
EIZO logo
HP logo
Lenovo logo
Lexmark logo
MMD logo
Xerox logo

Our Full Roster of Climate+ Purchasing Leaders Now Includes:

California Department of General Services logo
Los Angeles Department of Water & Power logo
Oregon State DAS Procurement Services logo
Washington State Department of Enterprise Services

Our Full Roster of Climate+ Purchasing Advocates Now Includes:

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Operational Services Division