2016 EPEAT Purchaser Award Winners

May 24, 2016

More than 70 people gathered at the 2016 EPEAT Sustainable Purchasing Awards reception sponsored by the Information Technology Industry Council (ITI). Attendees included representatives from the U.S. Dept. of Defense, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. General Services Administration, and U.S. Dept. of Energy, all shown here with ITI Sr. Vice President of Environment and Sustainability Rick Goss, Global Electronics CouncilCEO Nancy Gillis, and GEC Board Member Liz Gasster.

Washington, DC – May 24, 2016 – The Global Electronics Council (GEC) today announced the winners of the 2016 EPEAT Sustainable Purchasing Awards, which recognize excellence in the procurement of sustainable electronics. EPEAT is a free and trusted source of environmental product ratings that makes it easy for purchasers to select high-performance electronics that support their organization’s sustainability goals. EPEAT is managed by the Green Electronics Council. The 38 award winners represented a wide range of organizations, including national and provincial/state governments, leading academic institutions and the healthcare sector. The combined impact of this year’s 38 EPEAT Sustainable Purchasing Award winners resulted in more than $16.8 million in energy savings, greenhouse gas reductions equivalent to removing 29,786 passenger cars from the road for a year, and a reduction of more than 702 metric tons of hazardous waste. “Organizations have a choice when purchasing electronics. They can either seek to reduce their environmental impacts through their purchasing decisions or not. Identifying a ‘sustainable’ electronic product can be complicated, which is why the Global Electronics Councilmakes EPEAT freely available to all purchasers. We congratulate the 2016 EPEAT Sustainable Purchasing Award winners for making the right choice,” said Nancy Gillis, CEO of the Green Electronics Council. The winners were celebrated at the GEC awards ceremony sponsored by the Information Technology Industry Council (ITI), a global trade group that represents 60 of the world’s leading technology companies. “Even as technology changes our lives for the better, our companies are also committed to ensuring that these products leave a more positive mark on the world,” said ITI President and CEO Dean Garfield. “More and more businesses, organizations, and governments are committed to operating in an environmentally responsible way. As some of the largest customers for tech products and services, they help drive a marketplace rewarding innovations that are greener, more energy efficient, and more sustainable.” The Global Electronics Councilalso honored Dana Arnold, a federal employee of the General Services Administration (GSA) and longtime advocate for sustainable-procurement policies. GEC recognized Arnold with the Sustainable Purchasing Visionary Award for her accomplishments throughout her 24-year career with the U.S. Federal government. The 38 winners of the 2016 Awards were recognized for their procurement efforts in up to three categories: PCs and Displays, Imaging Equipment and Televisions. Award winners earned one star for each category in which they committed to purchasing environmentally preferable electronics registered in the EPEAT green-rating system.

Three-Star Award Winners

  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, DOE
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • McGill University
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), DOE
  • Oak Ridge Associated Universities
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, DOE
  • Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant, DOE
  • Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, DOE
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Two-Star Award Winners

  • Battelle Energy Alliance, DOE
  • Chicago Field Division, DEA
  • City and County of San Francisco
  • City of Durango
  • Consolidated Nuclear Security ,LLC; Y-12 National Security Complexe
  • Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • Idaho Treatment Group, DOE
  • Kaiser Permanente
  • Missile Defense Agency
  • State of Minnesota
  • Strategic Petroleum Reserve, DOE
  • University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh
  • URS | CH2M Oak Ridge LLC (UCOR) Information Technology (IT), DOE
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • U.S. Department of Energy – Legacy Management
  • U.S. DEA Southwest Laboratory

One-Star Award Winners

  • Bowdoin College
  • City of Palo Alto
  • City of Seattle
  • District of Columbia (Washington, DC)
  • Maryland Department of Transportation
  • Mission Support Alliance: Information Management, DOE
  • Province of Nova Scotia
  • Shared Services Canada – Procurement and Vendor Relations
  • Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, Department of Energy
  • Université Laval
  • Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) Carlsbad Field Office (CBFO), DOE
  • Western Laboratory, DEA