EPEAT pour l'énergie solaire

L'EPEAT aide les agences gouvernementales, le secteur privé, les établissements d'enseignement et d'autres organisations à trouver et à acheter des produits technologiques qui répondent à des critères de durabilité rigoureux. Il s'agit du principal écolabel mondial de type 1 pour les produits électroniques. Il est géré par le Global Electronics Council (GEC), une organisation à but non lucratif qui s'appuie sur le pouvoir des acheteurs pour créer un monde où seules des technologies durables sont achetées et vendues.

Les critères EPEAT prennent en compte les impacts environnementaux et sociaux tout au long du cycle de vie du produit, depuis l'extraction des ressources et la fabrication jusqu'à la fin de vie, en passant par l'assemblage et l'utilisation. Les nouveaux critères de l'EPEAT pour le carbone incorporé garantiront que les panneaux solaires enregistrés par l'EPEAT émettent moins de carbone pendant leur production, ce qui contribuera à réduire les émissions de type 3 pour les acheteurs de panneaux solaires ou d'électricité provenant d'installations solaires.

Les produits qui répondent aux critères EPEAT sont identifiés sur le site web public appelé EPEAT Registry. Avant d'obtenir l'enregistrement EPEAT, un organisme tiers indépendant de certification et de test doit vérifier la conformité du produit aux critères EPEAT.

La réputation mondiale de l'EPEAT, les critères basés sur le cycle de vie et le registre en ligne créent des opportunités intéressantes pour les fabricants et les acheteurs de panneaux solaires et d'onduleurs.

EPEAT pour le solaire : Mises à jour

global electronics council at uk solar summit

GEC at UK Solar Summit

GEC is excited to have Patricia Dillon, Vice President of Criteria and Category Development moderate a session at the UK Solar Summit on 4-5 Juin in London. The session, titled How is the Solar Industry Ensuring Best ESG Practice, will discuss how to incentivize the solar industry to go beyond existing governance and regulations to future-proof operations.

The panel will look at what impact ESG efforts have within the supply chain, including areas such as mineral sourcing, manufacturing, and the labor force. They’ll also discuss how the Carbon Border Tax is impacting the market. At this event GEC will highlight its new, innovative ultra-low carbon solar initiative.

GEC’s Director of Global Development, Debbie Graham-Clifford, will also be attending the conference. Both Patty and Debbie are excited to meet you!

Opportunités pour les acheteurs

à faible teneur en carbone
Modules photovoltaïques à faible teneur en carbone incorporé

L'achat de produits à faible teneur en carbone intrinsèque est essentiel pour réduire les émissions du champ d'application 3. Alors que les installations solaires ne produisent pas d'électricité, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de la chaîne d'approvisionnement varient considérablement. L'achat de panneaux solaires à faible teneur en carbone est essentiel pour maximiser les avantages des investissements dans les énergies renouvelables.

registre mondial gratuit en ligne
Registre mondial en ligne gratuit

Le registre EPEAT en ligne simplifie la recherche de produits vérifiés comme étant conformes aux critères EPEAT tout en répondant aux exigences uniques des utilisateurs en matière de spécifications de produits.

ressources pour l'approvisionnement gratuit
Ressources gratuites sur les marchés publics

L'EPEAT collabore avec des groupes tels que la National Association of State Procurement Officials (NASPO) pour créer du matériel destiné à rendre plus efficaces les efforts nouveaux et existants en matière d'achats durables. Ces documents comprennent des formations, des modèles de contrats, etc.

Impacts réduits sur la chaîne d'approvisionnement
Réduction de l'impact sur la chaîne d'approvisionnement

Les critères EPEAT traitent des impacts depuis l'extraction des matériaux jusqu'à la conception et la fabrication, ainsi que l'élimination et le recyclage des produits. Les critères exigent des fabricants et de leurs chaînes d'approvisionnement qu'ils maintiennent des lieux de travail sûrs et des pratiques de travail équitables, tout en réduisant les effets néfastes sur l'environnement.

leadership durable
Leadership durable

Démontrer un engagement en faveur du développement durable en soutenant des produits qui réduisent les effets néfastes sur les personnes et la planète. L'achat de produits enregistrés EPEAT est une manifestation tangible des valeurs d'une organisation.

Comment les acheteurs peuvent-ils utiliser l'EPEAT dans leurs achats ?

La façon la plus simple de profiter des avantages de l'EPEAT est d'utiliser le registre en ligne pour trouver des panneaux solaires pour des projets à venir. En outre, les acheteurs peuvent ajouter aux politiques d'achat, aux demandes de propositions, aux contrats et aux appels d'offres un libellé qui exige ou même donne la préférence aux produits figurant dans le registre EPEAT.

Le développement et l'enregistrement de produits répondant aux critères de l'EPEAT représentent un investissement en argent et en temps pour les fabricants. Les personnes qui achètent directement des panneaux solaires ou qui investissent dans une installation solaire peuvent informer leur fabricant ou développeur de leur préférence pour des panneaux solaires enregistrés EPEAT. En outre, les acheteurs peuvent également faire part de leurs objectifs en matière de réduction des émissions de carbone afin d'aider les fabricants et les promoteurs à comprendre leurs besoins dans les moindres détails.

Pour toute question concernant l'EPEAT pour les acheteurs, veuillez contacter directement GEC à l'adresse info@gec.org.

Opportunités pour les fabricants

leadership-positionnement
Positionnement des dirigeants

Se démarquer des autres fabricants en proposant des produits à faible teneur en carbone intrinsèque, essentiels à une réduction efficace des émissions du champ d'application 3.

critères de conception des produits
Critères relatifs à la conception des produits et à la chaîne d'approvisionnement

Les critères EPEAT abordent les questions du changement climatique et du travail, qui sont au cœur de la plupart des initiatives et des rapports ESG et RSE.

vérification par un tiers
Vérification par un tiers

Les produits enregistrés EPEAT sont reconnus comme répondant à des critères rigoureux tout au long de leur cycle de vie, depuis l'extraction des ressources et la fabrication jusqu'à la fin de vie, en passant par l'assemblage et l'utilisation.

updated-epeat-criteria-rapid
Sensibilisation des acheteurs institutionnels

Accéder aux acheteurs qui stipulent dans les contrats des produits enregistrés EPEAT.

us-epa-recommendations-standards-ecolabels
Recommandations de l'EPA en matière de normes et de labels écologiques

L'agence américaine pour la protection de l'environnement (EPA) inclut les panneaux solaires enregistrés par EPEAT dans ses recommandations de normes et d'écolabels.

Comment les fabricants peuvent-ils enregistrer des produits qualifiés dans le registre EPEAT ?

ÉTAPE 1 : EXAMEN DES CRITÈRES EPEAT APPLICABLES

Les fabricants doivent d'abord examiner les critères EPEAT pour la catégorie de produits Modules photovoltaïques et onduleurs et les critères EPEAT pour l'évaluation des modules solaires à très faible teneur en carbone afin de comprendre les exigences et de déterminer ce qu'il faut faire pour satisfaire à tous les critères requis.

ÉTAPE 2 : REMPLIR LES FORMULAIRES POUR LA PARTICIPATION À EPEAT

Les fabricants qui souhaitent enregistrer leurs produits auprès de l'EPEAT signent l'accord de licence EPEAT et de fabricant participant. Ils doivent également remplir le formulaire d'information du fabricant participant à l'EPEAT et payer les frais de participation à l'EPEAT.

ÉTAPE 3 : PASSER UN CONTRAT AVEC UN CAB AGRÉÉ ET FAIRE L'OBJET D'UN EXAMEN DU PRODUIT

Les fabricants doivent travailler avec l'une des organisations de certification et d'essai qui composent le réseau mondial d'organismes d'assurance de la conformité (CAB) de l'EPEAT pour démontrer la conformité aux critères de l'EPEAT et payer la redevance appropriée pour ce service. Les frais sont fixés indépendamment par chaque CAB.

Étape 4 : Les produits apparaissent dans le registre EPEAT

Une fois qu'un OEC approuvé a confirmé qu'un fabricant et son produit répondent aux critères EPEAT, le produit apparaît dans le registre EPEAT et peut être consulté et recherché par les acheteurs.

Vous avez des questions sur la procédure ?

Veuillez nous contacter directement à l'adresse epeat@gec.org.

EPEAT for Solar

EPEAT helps government agencies, the private sector, educational institutions, and other organizations find and procure technology products that meet rigorous sustainability criteria. It is the leading global Type 1 ecolabel for electronics and is managed by the Global Electronics Council (GEC), a mission-driven nonprofit that leverages the power of purchasers to create a world where only sustainable technology is bought and sold.

EPEAT Criteria address environmental and social impacts across the entire product lifecycle, from the extraction of resources and manufacturing, through assembly, use, and end-of-life. EPEAT’s newly released Criteria for embodied carbon will ensure that EPEAT-registered solar panels emit less carbon during their production, contributing to lower Scope 3 emissions for purchasers of solar panels or electricity from solar installations.

Products that meet EPEAT Criteria are identified on the public-facing website called the EPEAT Registry. Before becoming EPEAT-registered, an independent third-party certification and testing organization must verify the product’s conformance with EPEAT Criteria.

EPEAT’s global reputation, lifecycle-based Criteria, and online Registry create exciting opportunities for both manufacturers and purchasers of solar panels and inverters.

EPEAT for Solar: Updates

global electronics council at uk solar summit

GEC at UK Solar Summit

GEC is excited to have Patricia Dillon, Vice President of Criteria and Category Development moderate a session at the UK Solar Summit on 4-5 June in London. The session, titled How is the Solar Industry Ensuring Best ESG Practice, will discuss how to incentivize the solar industry to go beyond existing governance and regulations to future-proof operations.

The panel will look at what impact ESG efforts have within the supply chain, including areas such as mineral sourcing, manufacturing, and the labor force. They’ll also discuss how the Carbon Border Tax is impacting the market. At this event GEC will highlight its new, innovative ultra-low carbon solar initiative.

GEC’s Director of Global Development, Debbie Graham-Clifford, will also be attending the conference. Both Patty and Debbie are excited to meet you!

Opportunities for Purchasers

low-embodied-carbon
Photovoltaic Modules with Low Embodied Carbon

Purchasing products with low embodied carbon is critical to cutting Scope 3 emissions. While solar installations are net zero in their generation of electricity, supply chain greenhouse gas emissions vary greatly. Purchasing low-carbon solar panels is critical to maximizing the benefits of renewable energy investments.

free-global-online-registry
Free Global Online Registry

The online EPEAT Registry simplifies searches for products verified as meeting EPEAT Criteria while also satisfying unique user product specification requirements.

free-procurement-resources
Free Procurement Resources

EPEAT collaborates with groups such as the National Association of State Procurement Officials (NASPO) to create materials designed to help make new and existing sustainable procurement efforts more effective. These materials include training, sample contract language, and more.

reduced-supply-chain-impacts
Reduced Supply Chain Impacts

EPEAT Criteria address impacts from material mining to design and manufacture, as well as product disposal and recycling. The Criteria require manufacturers and their supply chains to maintain safe workplaces and fair labor practices while also reducing harmful environmental effects.

sustainable-leadership
Sustainable Leadership

Demonstrate a commitment to sustainability by supporting products that lessen harmful impacts on people and the planet. Purchasing EPEAT-registered products is a tangible display of an organization’s values.

How Purchasers Can Utilize EPEAT in Procurement

The simplest way to enjoy the benefits of EPEAT is to use the online Registry to find solar panels for upcoming projects. Additionally, purchasers can add language to purchasing policies, RFPs, contracts, and tenders that require or even gives preference to products that appear on the EPEAT registry.

Developing and registering products that meet EPEAT’s Criteria is an investment of both money and time for manufacturers. Those that purchase solar panels directly or are investing in a solar installation, can inform their manufacturers or developer of their preference for EPEAT-registered solar panels. In addition, purchasers may also share any carbon reduction targets to help manufacturers and developers understand their needs in the greatest detail.

Please reach out to GEC directly at info@gec.org for questions about EPEAT for purchasers.

Opportunities for Manufacturers

leadership-positioning
Leadership Positioning

Stand out among manufacturers by offering low embodied carbon products critical to effective Scope 3 emissions reductions

product-design-criteria
Product Design and Supply Chain Criteria

EPEAT Criteria address climate change and labor issues that are a common focus of most ESG and CSR initiatives and reporting.

third-party-verfication
Third-Party Verification

EPEAT-registered products are trusted as meeting rigorous criteria across the entire product lifecycle, from the extraction of resources and manufacturing, through assembly, use, and end of life.

updated-epeat-criteria-rapid
Awareness Among Institutional Purchasers

Gain access to purchasers who stipulate EPEAT-registered products in contracts.

us-epa-recommendations-standards-ecolabels
U.S. EPA Recommendations of Standards and Ecolabels

The U.S. EPA includes EPEAT-registered solar panels in its recommendations of standards and ecolabels.

How Manufacturers Can Register Qualified Products on the EPEAT Registry

STEP 1: REVIEW APPLICABLE EPEAT CRITERIA

Manufacturers should first review the EPEAT Criteria for the Photovoltaic Modules and Inverters product category and the EPEAT Criteria for the Assessment of Ultra-Low Carbon Solar Modules to understand the requirements and determine what’s needed to meet all required criteria.

STEP 2: COMPLETE FORMS FOR EPEAT PARTICIPATION

Manufacturers who are interested in registering their products with EPEAT sign the EPEAT License and Participating Manufacturer Agreement. Manufacturers must also complete the EPEAT Participating Manufacturer Information Form and pay the EPEAT Participating Manufacturer fees.

STEP 3: CONTRACT WITH AN APPROVED CAB AND UNDERGO PRODUCT REVIEW

Manufacturers must work with one of the certification and testing organizations that make up EPEAT’s global network of Conformity Assurance Bodies (CABs) to demonstrate conformance with EPEAT Criteria and pay the appropriate fee for that service. Fees are set independently by each CAB.

Step 4: PRODUCTS APPEAR IN THE EPEAT REGISTRY

Once an approved CAB has confirmed that a Manufacturer and its product meet EPEAT Criteria, the product will appear in the EPEAT Registry and be viewable and searchable by purchasers.

Have Questions About the Process?

Please reach out to us directly at epeat@gec.org.